Site Map - Privacy - Credit Nxn
Consorzio VWT - P.Iva 04129060275

City Center

Home > VENICE > City Center

The city of Venice is made up of 120 small islands separated by channels and connected by bridges for pedestrian use only.
The city center is traditionally divided into six districts: Dorsoduro, Santa Croce, San Polo, San Marco, Cannaregio and Castello.
Main waterway is the Gran Canal which with his S form devides the city in two sides.
Around the old town, numerous islands were built (some uninhabited today). Among these most important we remember Murano, Burano, Torcello, Sant 'Erasmo.
The Lagoon is divide from Adriatic Sea by Lido and Pellestrina, two long and tight islands
The most famous place is St. Mark's Square, with the 'Basilica next to the Palazzo Ducale.
This is the only, in the historic center, called "Square": others are called "Fields" or "Campielli".
Other interesting point is Rialto Bridge with its shops, one of four bridges spanning the Grand Canal.
Until 2010 bridges crossing Gran Canal were only 3. The new Constitution Bridge designed by Calatrava connects Piazzale Roma Station to St. Lucia Railway Station.
If you come to Venice you can not visit the most important churches of the city: Our Lady of Health, St. John and Paul, Frari, San Giorgio Maggiore, Redeemer, San Pietro di Castello, designed by architects as Palladio or Veronese and famous for works contained in them.
In the city you can find important Museum as Accademia Art Gallery, National Library Marciana, Natural History Museum, Jewish Museum, '700 Venetian Museum etc ..

+39 041 5229040
Site Map - Privacy - Credit Nxn
Consorzio VWT - P.Iva 04129060275